Board Information

The Board of Directors’ purpose is to lead the BRWA in providing quality service to everyone. The Board acts as representatives of the community, guiding the strategy of the BRWA and providing oversight in key decisions, financial planning, and projects.

Have Questions?

If you have a question or feedback, please get in touch. We’d be happy to help.

Board Members

Jay Gray

Vice Chair | Finance Committee

Term: 2021-2024

Jay currently works at Conserva Irrigation as a Franchise Support Consultant. He relocated with his family from California to Forest several years ago to enjoy the beauty of Bedford County. Mr. Gray also brings valuable experience in cross-connection with him.

Phone: (434) 534-1568


Kevin Mele

Finance Committee

Term: 2021-2024

Kevin Mele is a CPA who has been operating his own accounting firm in Moneta since 1980. He has also served on numerous boards in the community, including the Bedford County School Board, which his wife, Susan, is now a member of. The couple currently resides in Moneta.

Phone: (540) 797-4204


Michael Moldenhauer

Personnel Committee

Term: 2024-2027

Michael Moldenhauer is local to the area, having grown up in Amherst. After graduating from Amherst High School in 1972, he went on to earn a degree at Virginia Tech while also working at the Lane Company. After a ten-year career with the Lane Company, he began working at Sam Moore Furniture, where he retired as President in 2008. Mr. Moldenhauer actively serves in other community organizations, including the Bedford Area Family YMCA.

Phone: (540) 354-3294


Robert Flynn


Term: 2024-2027

Robert Flynn started his career as a public accountant. However, after several years, he transitioned to being a full-time carpenter, eventually starting his own business, Royal Corist Co. Inc. After operating Royal Corist Co. Inc. for 23 years, he ended his career as a Project Manager with Fralin and Waldron Inc. In addition to an impressive career, Mr. Flynn has set aside time to volunteer on many boards, including the Smith Mountain Lake Chamber of Commerce and Roanoke Regional Home Builders Association.

Phone: (540) 588-0396


Rusty Mansel

Policies and Projects Committee

Term: 2021-2024

Rusty Mansel retired from a 30-year career at Henkel, where he performed many roles throughout the company, including Business Development Manager, Market Development Manager, and Account Manager. He currently works part-time for the National Park Service. Mr. Mansel has also been a board member of the Town of Bedford’s Redevelopment and Housing Authority and the Bower Center for the Arts.

Phone: (540) 816-5750


Donald Barger

Policies and Projects Committee

Term: 2023-2026

Donald Barger is self-employed and runs a franchise of Snap-On to offer productivity solutions for businesses by providing them with the tools needed to perform their work. He is a James River High School graduate who lives in Goodview. He says, “I would like to give valuable input on decisions affecting the County and my family’s quality of life.”

Phone: (434) 841-7627


Board meetings

The Board is made up of members from both the Town and County of Bedford, appointed by the Town Council and the Board of Supervisors and serving up to two successive four-year terms.

The board has three committees:

  1. The personnel committee
  2. The finance committee
  3. The policies and projects committee

Board of Directors meetings are:

  • Time: the third Tuesday of each month at 7 pm
  • Location: Authority’s Annex building at 1723 Falling Creek Road in Bedford County.

Board meetings are also broadcast via Zoom. The public is invited to join these meetings for any comments they wish to express.

To see board meeting dates and documents, please visit our calendar and navigate to the meeting date needed.